top of page

ProudPA #27 - R-E-S-P-E-C-T Shining a light on bullying


The Proud Assistant is a blog by experienced & Award Winning Executive Assistants, Networkers & Bloggers. Follow the conversation using hashtag #ProudPA

In April 2015 I signed the Speak Up Pledge, a call to action started by @BonnieLowKramen, and asked my colleague to photograph me doing so in order that I could put it on my desk as a reminder that, by signing, I pledged to speak up in my workplace in order to build more productive, positive, and respectful communication between me, my manager, and my colleagues.

I pledged to always respect myself and not allow myself to be bullied by others; and I pledged that I would endeavour to become a more self-confident and empowered person.

It was quite hard putting pen to paper though as I have been bullied throughout my life, essentially for the “sin” of just trying to be myself. I was bullied at school, and I have been bullied throughout my 22 years within the administrative profession. I wasn’t one of the popular crowd, I didn’t like the same things others did, I didn’t hang out with the “right” people, I was “just” a … and my life choices apparently did not give me the right to an opinion, nor the right to be myself, to be respected, to be heard.


BELIEVE

#1 

Today you are YOU

That is TRUER than true

There is NO ONE alive
who is YOUER than you!

~ Dr. Seuss

#2

I am what I am and that appears to be working for me so far.

#3

If you believe in yourself anything is possible.

bottom of page